9 Oct

ECO at Cadogan Hall with Alissa Firsova

19:30 Cadogan Hall

Series: Cadogan Hall series

Throughout the ECO’s history we have commissioned and premiered numerous works for orchestra, often championing young talent; today we are delighted to be working with the gifted 27 year old musician, composer and conductor Alissa Firsova who will conduct the first performance of her Serenade for Strings, commissioned especially for this evening’s performance. We also revisit one of the ECO’s past commissions, the 4th Symphony of our old friend David Matthews, who is celebrating his 70th birthday this year. To open the concert Alissa is soloist in Mozart’s sublime Piano Concerto no.23 in A, and after the interval, returning to the podium, she is joined by the outstanding young cellist Michael Petrov for Tchaikovsky’s Rococo Variations.

  1. Mozart Piano Concerto No. 23 in A, K.488
  2. Alissa Firsova Serenade for Strings (world premiere performance of new commission)
  3. Tchaikovsky Variations on a Rococo Theme, for cello and orchestra
  4. David Matthews Symphony No.4
Alissa Firsova
conductor and piano
Michael Petrov