19 Mar

ECO in Hull: Howard Shelley

19:30 City Hall, Hull

Howard Shelley’s second concert with the ECO as conductor and soloist in 2015 features a performance of Mozart’s wonderful Piano Concerto No.21. The concert opens with Grieg’s Holberg Suite, which was composed to mark the 200th anniversary of the birth of playwright Ludvig Holberg. Handel’s Water Music Suite No.2 was written for an outdoor performance on the River Thames in honour of King George I in 1717. The concert is brought to a close with a performance of Schubert’s Symphony No.5. Written when the composer was aged just 19, the piece exudes a youthful exuberance which resembles Mozart, whom Schubert greatly admired.

  1. Grieg Holberg Suite
  2. Mozart Piano Concerto No.21
  3. Handel Water Music Suite No.2
  4. Schubert Symphony No.5
Howard Shelley
Book tickets