19 May

ECO at Kings Place 6/6.  Nicolas Altstaedt: Haydn Cello Concerto No.1

19:30 Kings Place

Compelling young Franco-German cellist Nicolas Altstaedt performs Haydn’s dazzling first concerto, composed for the Eszterházy’s court’s great cellist Anton Kraft, and conducts his darkly dynamic Symphony No. 49 in F minor, nicknamed ‘La Passione’. Eszterházy lies in what is now Hungary, whose native music is evoked by Sándor Veress’s Transylvanian Dances and his virtuoso sonata for solo cello.

‘The cellist Nicolas Altstaedt is an artist in a category all its own’ Hamburger Abendblatt

  1. Veress Four Transylvanian Dances (1944, 1949)
  2. Haydn Cello Concerto No. 1 in C, Hob.VIIb:1
  3. Veress Sonata for solo cello (1967)
  4. Haydn Symphony No. 49 in F minor, Hob.I:49 La Passione
Nicolas Altstaedt
Book tickets