6 Mar

English Chamber Orchestra with François Leleux

19:00 Sheffield City Hall

The ECO returns to Sheffield to continue its collaboration with oboist and conductor François Leleux, a musician of infectious vitality. Leleux directs and performs Mozart’s charming Oboe Concerto, as well as the great Polish composer Penderecki’s Capriccio, a work of fascinating colours and dazzling showmanship.

Opening and closing the concert are two of the best-loved and most engaging symphonies of them all. Mozart’s ‘Haffner’ is a superb celebratory masterpiece, while Mendelssohn’s ‘Italian’ radiates warmth and sunniness. No wonder he once described it as “the happiest piece I have yet composed”. Bursting with energy and optimism, it culminates with a frenzied dance that will leave you simply breathless.

  1. Mozart Symphony No. 35, 'Haffner'
  2. Mozart Oboe Concerto
  3. Penderecki Capriccio for Oboe and Strings
  4. Mendelssohn Symphony No 4, 'Italian'
François Leleux
Book tickets