27 Sep

‘ECO Live’ - Mendelssohn’s Octet

16:00 On-Line

Amongst the many jewels that were composed in Mendelssohn’s prodigious youth, sits the Octet in E-flat major, written in 1825, when the composer was just sixteen. The four movement work glides effortlessly from elegant expanse, to touching sentimentality, to spry fairy-like music that foreshadows his much loved overture to A Midsummer Night’s Dream written the following year.

Preluding this work is Borodin’s Sextet in D minor, a work that comprises only two movements, the others never having been completed by the composer, but that is full of style, beauty and rustic Russian lyricism.

  1. Borodin Sextet in D minor
  2. Mendelssohn Octet in E-flat major Op.20
Book tickets